Grade Three to Grade X modules

Foundation Series C  and D - can be used from grade 3 to 5 

To enable them to feel and think ‘real’ and bring to them the concept of self and surrounding connect through connecting them to their everyday life. The methodology would be more activity based through games and worksheets with short reflection dialogues. The focus would be on thinking, social and emotional skills of the students. Situational questions with ‘here and now’ present moment would be taken up in the dialogues.

The main objectives would be

  •   To realize that they are individuals and there is a need to know themselves
  •   To realize the connect to their basic feelings and emotions of joy, anger and disgust
  •   To give them the voice to feel and think that they are real beings who have a view point
  •   To give them the basics of communication and ability to speak their minds with clarity
  •   To understand the various roles they play and how family and society are connected     
  •   To understand physical hygiene and responsibility to keep body, school, house and community clean
  •   To initiate the process of taking responsibility for oneself and managing time and work better

Life Book 1 – can be used for Grade 5 and up to 7

Life is nothing but a string of stories with learning’s attached to it. In grade V, 16-18 values are explored using a transformative tool called ‘Discovery’ (Sampath, 2005). The children get to understand that every event in their life is a story by itself and they have the choice to draw their learning’s from each of those stories.  It also introduces the possibility of multiple perspectives to them, along with introducing over forty different values. The children are made to move away from good/bad concept of values which are judgmental and limiting to understanding values from facilitative and restrictive perspective.


Life Book 2 – can be used for Grade 6 and up to 8

Children in sixth grade learn that the learning’s they pick up from the stories move on to become conclusions and further to become beliefs. The linear model of the formation of values is presented to them through experiential processes of role-play and sharing.

The children explore the processes involved in manufacturing their behavior through learning the processes involved in looking within. The power to change their beliefs and the ability to be aware of their conclusions form an important part of Life book 2 EQUBE program.

Life Book 3 – Can be used for Grade 7 and up to 9

Having learnt to locate their beliefs in the previous year, the children in seventh grade move on to learn to learn. Learning is a critical skill for managing change. The realization that mindful learning leaves behind a wise person and mindless learning creates a knowledgeable person is brought to them using the examples picked from their own classroom learning. Using 5W-1H, they learn to explore and connect to subjects and life. This gives the 12-year-olds a new perspective to look at their subject learnings from an evolution-in-life perspective rather than from an examination perspective.

Life Book 4 – can be used for Grade 8 and up to 10

The grade VIII children are stepping into teens. The learning from grades V, VI, and VII about life needs to now get streamlined to advanced level of integration. Therefore, the purpose of these learnings is anchored through dealing with ‘VISION’ formulation. The children learn the distinction between goals, mission, and vision. The power of vision is imparted to them with real-life examples and reflection exercises. They learn the vision essentials from individual point of view as well as group/team point of view.  The core learning are in three areas:

  • The role played by vision and values integration in evolving them towards excellence
  • The choice of being a Victim of circumstances or a Master of circumstances in working towards reaching their goals
  • The children take a vision-value assessment using VVI (Vision-Value Instrument) and identify the extent of imbalance in their vision-value alignment.             The EQUBE program for the VIII graders brings about the realization that there is a purpose behind their existence and they need to find it. The sooner they find, the more the time they have to achieve their vision.

Life Book 5 – Can be used for Grade 9 and up to 11

This is a sequel to Life book 4. Having understood the power of vision, they now understand the values that go into achieving that vision. This year, the children learn five critical orientations in moving towards excellence:

  • Achievement Orientation
  • Sociability Orientation
  • Leadership Orientation
  • Learning Orientation
  • Integrity Orientation

The children are introduced to feedback process using VPI (Value Profile Instrument) (Sampath, 1999). This is a multi-rater instrument. The exercise helps the children to obtain a 360-degree feedback from their peers, family, teachers, and friends. The children learn through understanding the implications created from the imbalances in the values.

Life Book 6 – Can be used for Grade 10 and up to 12

Tenth grade demands several decisions from the students. Therefore, in EQUBE program they not only recap and work on vision and values integration, they also attempt to put their learning into a social action project. The students experientially learn their own connect and responsibility to the society and the world around. They also understand the power of giving, expanding and evolving in life with a deeper sense of commitment to themselves along with learning to emerge strong from failures.

Return to Eqube page